Aadhaar, EPFO, ESI, GSTIN, IFSC, PAN, TAN Format Validation

Business Automation SAAS | Office Anywhere

Validation of Important Numbers

8 Type of Numbers that is PAN Number, AADHAAR Number, TAN Number, GSTIN Number, IFSC Code, MICR Code, ESI Number, EPFO Number can be validated in this application. Numbers Provided by Govt & Bank are required to fill in forms and returns. It is important to validate Numbers when in doubt. In this site, you can validate numbers individually or you can validate multiple numbers at once.

Validate PAN Number
Important Income Tax Validations
Validate AADHAR Number
Validate your EPFO Number
IFSC Code Validation
OfficeAnywhere, Format Validation | Aadhar, EPFO, ESI, GSTIN, IFSC, PAN, TAN
Income Tax, Validations, OfficeAnywhere
Format Validation | Aadhar, EPFO, ESI, GSTIN, IFSC, PAN, TAN
Bulk Validations

Sl. No.


What it is

Validation Rules


PAN (Permanent Account Number)

An identification number assigned to all taxpayers in India

Issuing Authority: Income Tax Department, Govt. of India

It is a 10-letter alpha-numeric number and each character represents distinct information of the cardholder.

The PAN (or PAN number) is a ten-character long alpha-numeric unique identifier.

The PAN structure is as follows: AAAPL1234C:

The first five characters are letters (in uppercase by default), followed by four numerals, and the last (tenth) character is a letter.

The first three characters of the code are three letters forming a sequence of alphabets letters from AAA to ZZZ

The fourth character identifies the type of holder of the card. Each holder type is uniquely defined by a letter from the list below:

A — Association of persons (AOP)

B — Body of Individuals (BOI)

C — Company

F — Firm

G — Government

H — HUF (Hindu undivided family)

L — Local authority

J — Artificial juridical person

P — Individual (proprietor)

T — Trust (AOP)

E – LLP (limited liability partnership)

The fifth character of the PAN is the first character of either:

i) of the surname or last name of the person, in the case of a "personal" PAN card, where the fourth character is "P" or

ii) of the name of the entity, trust, society, or organization in the case of a company/HUF/Firm/AOP/trust/BOI/local authority/artificial judicial person/government, where the fourth character is "C", "H", "F", "A", "T", "B", "L", "J", "G".

The last (tenth) character is an alphabetic digit used as a check-sum to verify the validity of that current code.



Aadhaar is a verifiable 12-digit identification number issued by UIDAI to the resident of India.

12 digit UID Format (1234/1234/1234)



Tax Deduction and Collection Account Number (TAN) is a 10-digit alphanumeric number. The number is required to be quoted on all TDS returns under Section 203A of the Income Tax Act, 1961. The TAN number is needed to be obtained by all those persons who are responsible for deducting and collecting taxes.

Structure of 10 digit TAN -

TAN structure is as follows: RAJA99999B: The first four characters are letters, the next five are numerals, the last character is a letter.

Each tax deductor is uniquely identified by a TAN.

The first three characters represent the city or state where the TAN was issued.

The fourth character represents the first character of the name of the deductor.

And the next 5 characters are numerical.

And the Last character is a letter.



GSTIN stands for Goods and Service Tax Identification Number. It is a 15-digit alpha-numeric PAN-based unique code, which is allocated to every GST-registered person. This unique number will be issued state wise.

GSTIN structure (15 Digits )comprises

  • First 2 numbers → State code of the registered person
  • Next 10 characters → PAN of the registered person
  • Next number→ Entity number of the same PAN
  • Next character → Alphabet Z by default
  • Last number → Check code which may be alpha or digit, used for detection of errors


Indian Financial System Code (IFSC)

IFSC is an acronym for Indian Financial System Code. IFSC code is a unique eleven-digit number which is a combination of alphabets and numerals. It is used to transfer funds online for NEFT, IMPS, and RTGS transactions. Usually, the IFSC code can be found on the cheque-book provided by the bank. It can also be found on the front page of the accountholder’s passbook. The IFSC code of each bank branch is assigned by the Reserve Bank of India. The account holders can easily check the IFSC code of their bank/branch on the Reserve Bank of India’s website. Internet banking transactions for transferring funds, using NEFT, IMPS, and RTGS, can’t be initiated without a valid Indian Financial System Code.

An 11-digit alpha-numeric code based on the pattern followed by the Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIFT).

The IFSC code is alphanumeric number comprising of 11 characters, the first four identifying the bank, the fifth is numeric (kept 0) and the last six characters identify the bank branch.


MICR (Magnetic Ink Character Recognition)

MICR code is a code printed on cheques using MICR (Magnetic Ink Character Recognition technology). This enables identification of the cheques and which in turns means faster processing.

The MICR code is located on the bottom of a cheque leaf, next to the cheque number. You can also find it printed on the first page of a bank savings account passbook.

MICR is a 9-digit code

It comprises of 3 parts:

a) The first three digits represent the city (City Code). They are aligned with the PIN code we use for postal addresses in India.

b) The next 3 digits represent the bank (Bank Code)

c) The last 3 digits represent the branch (Branch Code)



ESI stands for Employee State Insurance managed by the Employee State Insurance Corporation which is an autonomous body created by the law under the Ministry of Labour and Employment, Government of India.

Organizations that are registered under ESI are given with ESI Number which they have to use while doing transactions.

ESIC follows a 17 digit code format. For explaining the format, let's take a code e.g. 31–00–123456–000–0001.

· 31 - stands for the region where the company/establishment is situated. Like 31 is for Mumbai, 52 is for Hyderabad.

· 00 - stands for main region code. It is used in the case where the company's head office is situated in some other region. Suppose, if any company is situated in Mumbai and having HO at Hyderabad, it's code will be like 31–53-******-***-****.

· 123456 - It's the company's​ unique code, it can have a maximum of 6 digits.

· 000 - These 3 digits denote the number of branches. If a company has more than Branches, subsequent branches will be like 001, 002, and so on.

· 0000 - These 4 digits depend upon the type of business activity in which the company is involved. Like for service providers, it will be 0001. Similarly, for restaurants, it will be 1102.


EPF account number

EPF Number is the account number that can be used to get your EPF transferred, to check the status of your EPF, or to check the balance in the EPF account, etc.

Example: KN/KRP/0054055/0000250

EPF number contains both the alphabets and numbers.

Every part of the EPF number is separated by the slash( / ).

KN = First two characters represent Regional Office code (In this case it is Karnataka Region)

KRP = Next three characters represent Regional Office / Sub-regional Office code (In this case, KRP stands for K.R.Puram and this account is under the K.R.Puram EPF office)

0054055 = Next seven digits represents Establishment/employer PF registration code

000 = The Next three digits number represents any extension assigned to establishment or employer (00A, 00B, 00C, or three zero’s if the extension is blank).

0000250 = The last 7 digit represents the actual EPF account number assigned to the employee.

Online Applications for Business Automation, Office Anywhere